Stage one complete!

A little over a year ago, I happened to stumble upon this:

Pictures of millennials with everything they own (and it isn’t much)

I said before that discovering Benny’s blog was responsible for this whole crazy idea finally forming in my mind, but it’s probably fair to say that the above article was equally to blame. Especially the phrase:

“…tend to live in sublets, traveling with a few boxes (or ikea bags) from one short-term arrangement to the next…”

I’m fairly sure this wasn’t the author’s intention, but that article made me feel envious.

Well, over the last couple of incredibly hectic days I finally moved out and put almost everything into storage. I don’t like taking pictures of myself, but here, contained within these two photos, is (almost) everything I own:

The completed "staging area".  Veterans of helping me move house will recognise the venerable Aitch.

The completed “staging area”. Veterans of helping me move house will recognise the venerable Aitch.

The stuff that came with me.

The stuff that came with me.


Contained within that carefully-measured pile is everything I’d need to live quite comfortably when it comes back out of storage, plus a fair few things not strictly required, including several decorative and/or nostalgic items.

Now, the astute amongst you may notice that there couldn’t possibly be a bed in that picture – I did actually have one, but it came from Freecycle in the first place anyway, so I agreed with the landlord to leave it as a donation.

The even astuter may wonder where the piano keyboard is. I’m actually keeping it at a friend‘s place (along with a couple of other things) in a mutually-beneficial arrangement: he gets to use them, and I don’t have to pay extra to store them.

Oh, go on then… I guess I own this too:

Car, complete with woefully-inept numberplate smudging job.

Car, complete with woefully-inept numberplate smudging job.

But that, I’m delighted to say, really is It.

So now I’m down in London staying with Anatai, in a fantastic little hobbit hole of a room that just happened to be going spare right when I needed it – and with just two items of luggage.

Shit just got real!

7 thoughts on “Stage one complete!

  1. Gwych! Rwy’n genfigennus. Ar ôl i’r gynhadledd yn Hamburg, wyt ti wedi penderfynu lle y byddi di’n aros am sbel?

    • Yn anffodus, Manceinion am bythefnos – dwy wythnos olaf efo’r hen job i helpu hyfforddi’r boi newydd! Wedyn dim ond pythefnos ar ôl cyn y parti yn Aber felly rhywle yn y DU bydd hi mae’n siŵr…

  2. Pingback: Getting familiar with MIDI | blog o' sphere

Leave a Reply

